The post that makes me sound crazy…

You’ve been forwarned… This post is long and I’m an over analyzer.

It’s been a hard 12 hours but we’re trying to stay optimistic. The numbers today were good but the timing is causing frustration. I just wanted this to be the perfect cycle but no such luck.

I have been using OPK’s just to be sure we don’t miss anything and unfortunately before bed last night (11pm) I tested and it came back positive. Frustration set in… I hadn’t yet used the trigger shot and therefore we knew the timing would be all messed up. We also knew our RE office lacks concern for perfect timing and has outrageous timeframes for both the expected ovulation window (48 hours not 36) and sperm life spans (72 hours not 12).

When we arrived today… The measurements were great but I was extremely concerned about the timing…Their options for us were limited. We could have insemed today at 12:20 but that seemed way too early (12-16 hours) Or their recommendation was to do insems Monday/Tuesday… I feel fine with Mondays which is scheduled for around 35-36 hours after first detected surge but I don’t think there is a point to Tuesday…

They seem to think that because my estradiol hasn’t made the pre-ovulation dip and because my progesterone level indicates I haven’t ovulated yet that I caught my LH surge really early. Making Tuesday not out of the question… I’m pessimistic… but we will do the ovidrel tonight just for the maturing benefits  and insem tomorrow for sure. Then the plan is to request blood work tomorrow and depending on the results we will make an educated decision on Tuesday. I’m sure I’m over analyzing everything but we’ve invested so much into this cycle. It feels like a going for broke moment and I just wanted everything to align. I’m trying to stay positive about 2 eggs releasing and having at least one really well-timed IUI.

Notes:

  • Tuesday (8/24) Measurements: Left side 13 Right side 12. Estradiol 78
  • Thursday (8/26) Measurements: Left side 15.5 Right side 14.5. Estradiol 101
  • Saturday (8/28) Measurements: Left side 17.9 Right side 14.5. Estradiol 266!!!
  • Saturday (8/28) lining was an impressive 12B… Highest ever!
  • Sunday (8/29) Measurements: Left side 21.5 Right side 16.5.
    • Estradiol 326. Progesterone .67.
