IVF Week 1, Day 4:

I was a complete ball of nerves this morning, which turned out to be a total waste of time because everything looked absolutely perfect. The nurse was unbelievable sweet and when she wished me luck it felt sincere and saturated in hope. As she left the room, she said, “Hang on, this is a whirlwind but I’m so glad you’re here”. I start injections tomorrow and I go back in on Monday for a blood draw to check my levels.

I was surprised by the tears that began streaming as soon as I reached my car. Good tears, relieved and deeply happy tears. It’s a reality now – we are doing IVF. It feels damn good to pass this first hurdle, even while realizing the next few weeks will be filled with so many additional ones. There’s no turning back, so here’s to lucky try number 7!

*** Nicole commented that she enjoyed my titles… So I’m keeping them for the time being. Just to help organize all the details.

