The dinner that wasn’t…

Last night was our first true food timing disaster. The experience has taught me two major things: I can’t wait to eat when hungry and I shouldn’t eat things that sound gross to begin with. Yesterday was my first day in a long stretch that I wasn’t able to take an afternoon nap – something that I’ve been depending on. So because of this when I got home from work I was beyond exhausted.

Instead of eating something – even if my stomach was telling me to – I chose to nap instead. I took care of the animals and completely crashed. I planned to wait for J to get home and make dinner but we didn’t know she was going to be home so late. So I slept – I imagine getting hungrier in my sleep and then when she woke me to eat. It must have been too late and I had reached the “I can’t eat anything you put in front of me” stage.  

I passed on dinner after a few forced bites, feeling completely sick and instead I went for my fall back food of choice, canned peaches. I ate a whole can as fast as I could while continuing to fight off the worst urge to puke and then fell asleep for another 3 hours. Finally getting up at 10pm to get ready for bed and eat a few rice cakes. The exhaustion is impossible to avoid but moving forward the food timing will be highly respected. Lesson learned.

Just one week till our first ultrasound… The time couldn’t be moving more slowly. My symptoms seem to ebb and flow – minus the exhaustion which is constant. Some mornings are better than others while most evenings I’m just exhausted. I’m finding myself more nauseous in the early afternoon/evening than the mornings but things seem to change daily. I guess it’s all a learning process…

