Why I spilled a few beans…

Coming out as pregnant this early at work is a scary thing but it had to be done. For many reasons but here are the main reasons I told so early… And yes this may sound a little like I’m convincing myself it’s ok I told…

  1. My boss is on vacation for the next 2 weeks (returning around my 12th week)
  2. I’m getting large – To begin with I’m small at only 5’1 and most of my growing is settling in my baby belly. Making me look, well I guess you would say pregnant! And who knows what I’ll look like by the time he returns and I thought it was only right for him to be the first to know.
  3. I work for a super small construction company (5 primary people) and my office is right next to the shop. The smells from the shop (due to fabrication) can get really bad.
  4. I’ve had two miscarriages while working for this company and if the smells are bad I need to leave – no questions asked!

So I came clean… and he was super supportive. One could say even a little excited! He’s a new grandpa and digging kids right now.

Being a really small company FMLA doesn’t apply for us. Which made telling even scarier! But it sounds like they’re going to make it all work. I can move to an upstairs office to avoid the smells. They are going to get me a cot so I can nap when I need to. And it sounds like they will work with me on a work from home / flex schedule before and after the babies are born. Coming back only ever 4 days a week after my maternity leave. Now – how we will be paying for all this time off is still unclear… But that’s for another day as today has been a huge leap in trusting my body and our babies to stick around! Deep breaths…

